Thursday, January 2, 2014

2014 Reading List: Part Two

Welcome to the construction of my 2014 reading list. In part one, I talked about the books I didn't get to in 2013. Now, take a look at this year's release that I'm most excited about. Tomorrow, I'll present my 2014 A-Z reading list.

And as always, recommendations are welcome!

The Execution by. Dick Wolf
January 7, 2014

A book by the creator of Law & Order has to be good. I have yet to read The Intercept, so I'll add that to the list, too.

NYPD Detective Jeremy Fisk—introduced in Law & Order creator Dick Wolf’s New York Times bestselling debut The Intercept—must stop an assassin in the pay of a shadowy cartel in The Execution, a tense thriller that superbly blends suspense, politics, intrigue and high-flying action in the tradition of Vince Flynn, David Baldacci, and Robert Crais. (

Cress (Lunar Chronicles #3) by. Marissa Mayer 
February 2014

I actually have yet to read book #2 of the Lunar Chronicles (Scarlet), but I really enjoyed the opener (Cinder) and look forward to reading more.

In this third book in the bestselling Lunar Chronicles series, Cinder and Captain Thorne are fugitives on the run, with Scarlet and Wolf in tow. Together, they’re plotting to overthrow Queen Levana and her army. Their best hope lies with Cress, who has been trapped on a satellite since childhood with only her netscreens as company. All that screen time has made Cress an excellent hacker—unfortunately, she’s just received orders from Levana to track down Cinder and her handsome accomplice. (G00dreads)

To Dwell in Darkness by. Deborah Crombie 
March 2014

Have you gotten hooked on Duncan Kincaid and Gemma James yet? If not, add this to your list. And let me also suggest No Mark Upon Her. Also, check out Deborah Crombie's (and several other fantastic ladies) blogging on Jungle Red Writers.

In the tradition of Elizabeth George, Louise Penny, and P. D. James, New York Times bestselling author Deborah Crombie delivers a powerful tale of intrigue, betrayal, and lies that will plunge married London detectives Duncan Kincaid and Gemma James into the unspeakable darkness that lies at the heart of murder.  (

The Skin Collector by. Jeffrey Deaver 
May 2014

A new Lincoln Rhyme mystery - score!

A new type of serial killer is stalking the streets of New York – one more devious and disturbing than ever before. They call this butcher The Skin Collector: a tattooist with a chamber of torture hidden deep underground. But instead of using ink to create each masterpiece, the artist uses a lethal poison which will render targets dead before they can even entertain the prospect of escape . . . (

The Fever by. Megan Abbott
June 2014

If you haven't already, you have to - have to - read Dare Me. Megan Abbott is an incredible writer with some very entertaining tweets.

The Nash family is close-knit. Tom is a popular teacher, father of two teens: Eli, a hocky star and girl magnet, and his sister Deenie, a diligent student. Their seeming stability, however, is thrown into chaos when Deenie's best friend is struck by a terrifying, unexplained seizure in class. Rumors of a hazardous outbreak spread through the family, school and community. As hysteria and contagion swell, a series of tightly held secrets emerges, threatening to unravel friendships, families and the town's fragile idea of security.  (Goodreads)

1 comment: